Homework. Fight Club Style

19 Dec

Elevator Moments. Make them Fun


 
Have you had your awkward moments in an elevator? I know I did. Those awkward silence, smiles, choked up “thank you’s” some never said or a non existent “You’re Welcome”.

Oh the “Thank You” and “You’re Welcome”. I sincerely hope it’s not a Singaporean thing. How does it feel to hold the elevator door for someone only to be met with a cold shoulder. No “Thanks”, no smiles and not even a nod. Makes me appreciate moments when someone does show gratitude that I feel like hugging them, while trying to hold back my tears and tell them “You’re Welcome!”.

How about times where you are the “elevator operator”? Instead of saying “<Insert Number> Storey Please!”, this guy squeezes past you and presses the button. Why do people do that? What’s wrong with getting someone to press the button for you? I am not asking to get paid. I want to do it. I swear!

I’ve had my fun moments too. This happened a couple of years ago when you were allowed to fart if you asked your friend to pull your finger and he did. So this was what happened, my friend and I were entering the elevator in school and before the door closed:

Me: Hey dude, pull my finger.
My Friend: No dude! Not in the elevator!
Me: Com’on. I need to let it rip!
My Friend: No way! I don’t want to die!
(The door starts to close)
Me: You know what? I don’t need your permission to do
anything.
Me: (So I let it rip…A perfect silencer)
My Friend: Nuuuuuuuuuu
Elevator: DING!
(Door opens)

This guy entered the elevator and the moment he sniffed, he looked like he swallowed a lemon whole. My friend and I had the toughest time of our lives trying to hold our laughter.

Bottom line: I’ve had it with awkward moments in the elevator. I got this idea from my friend’s colleague who’s from UK. He speaks to people in the lift just to freak them out. Well there’s no wrong striking a conversation with a stranger in the lift right? So whoever reads this and if you are up for it, this is homework.

Get rid of those awkward silences. Do something out of this world, make the person or people in the elevator laugh. Whether it’s in school or office building. Who knows? It might make their day and it’ll definitely make yours. Once you’ve done it, share it through the comments below. If you have done it before, share it too!

Few things to take note
  1. Don’t be rude. If you didn’t intend to but the person is offended just apologise and smile
  2. No Touching!
  3. Try not involve gases (You know what I mean). But oh well why not?

I am definitely going to do it when I head up to my office on Monday. I will share it in the comments too. It’s all in the name of fun, let’s hope the person or people appreciates the gesture. Oh and share the homework through Twitter or Facebook, dare your friends too and get them to share their experience over here. Be Creative, Good Luck and Have Fun!


 
 
 
 
 

13 Responses to “Homework. Fight Club Style”

  1. Asnicar January 6, 2011 at 2:35 am #

    2011 Happy New Year! Thnkx so much for this! I haven’t been this thrilled by a post for a long time! You’ve got it, whatever that means in blogging. Well, You’re certainly somebody that has something to say that people should hear. Keep up the good work. Keep on inspiring the people!

  2. Idolican January 5, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Very good written information. It will be useful to anyone who utilizes it, including myself. Keep up the good work – looking forward to more posts.

  3. Arvanitis January 5, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    Keep working ,terrific job!

  4. Baldwin Ng December 28, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    Definitely! I am using this wordpress theme called bueno. My direction is ‘Keeping it simple’. Thanks for returning the favour!

  5. Audrey Manier December 27, 2010 at 1:34 am #

    The most difficult thing is to find a blog with unique and fresh content but you definitely add value. Keep it like this.

    • Baldwin Ng December 28, 2010 at 1:25 am #

      Hey thank you for your great compliments. Just the encouragement I need to keep this running. Cheers

  6. Sabra Curran December 26, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    Quite a beautiful website. I recently built mine and i was looking for some ideas and you gave me a few. The website was developed by you?

    Cheers

    • Baldwin Ng December 28, 2010 at 1:23 am #

      Thanks Sabra. I try to keep it as simple as I can. I didn’t build this, this is a wordpress.com theme called ‘Bueno’.

      Cheers

  7. Ogloszenia December 26, 2010 at 2:31 am #

    hey, nice weblog and good publish

  8. anonse December 24, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    Very interesting topic and useful post. It really help me. Thanks.

    • Baldwin Ng December 28, 2010 at 1:22 am #

      Thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  9. Baldwin Ng December 21, 2010 at 12:25 am #

    Oooo. Not a very popular post this is. Anyway, I…

    1) Did an Austin Powers impression of ‘arghdank you’ to the guy who held the elevator door open for me.
    2) Talked in a loud voice when my colleague asked me how’s my weekend in a crowded elevator.
    3) May not be in the elevator, but I talked to a random lady whom I shared a table with during lunch.
    4) I talked to this guy flipping through a pile of papers. Asked him: “Need a file?”.

    May not be much but I realized I like talking to strangers.

Leave a Reply

