Do You Suffer from iPhone Sickness?

17 Dec

On the left, the phone I am stuck with. The right, the greatest phone ever.

I lost my iPhone today. No. Correction. The iPhone was taken away from me. No. Not exactly. Ok. I can’t use an iPhone anymore.

I just switched jobs today. My previous company had a spare iPhone that I took the opportunity to use for various reasons.

  1. It’s awesome
  2. It’s awesome
  3. My previous phone was trash

You know the feeling of losing something? The feeling that you never appreciated it enough & it’s now gone. I feel that way now. Times a thousand.

I don’t need to explain why an ‘iPhone is awesome’ part, so let me explain why my previous phone was trash. Starting with reason number one:

It’s a Nokia

Just kidding. But did you know that Nokia was the pioneer of the touch screen? This fact really ticks me because it’s a great example of not making use of first mover advantage.

It’s like sharpening a knife only for someone to throw it in your face.

Anyway, it lags pretty badly & hangs once in awhile. Nokia phones have terrible battery life no matter how much you take care of it, give it a year, a year & a half. It’s just going to die on you. A good reason for Singaporeans to change their phones since telco contracts last 21 months.
 

It has buttons

I am using a Nokia E71. The buttons are so close together. Some say I’ve got fat fingers but I choose to think the buttons are too small and packed like sardines. Buttons are vulnerable to wear and tear. It’s bound to get stuck one day.
 

The charger died on me twice

This is debatable, since there’s a slight possibility that the second charger I bought was the problem as it wasn’t exactly from Nokia. But just imagine having a phone that you can’t charge. I have to either dangle it from the table, stretch the cable to its full length or twist the the cable. Also, you can’t charge an E71 with a USB cable.
 
I could go on but to keep this short, the reasons mentioned above are my symptoms of the ‘iPhone sickness’.

I used to be a Nokia fan. My first mobile was a Nokia, I used a Samsung once and it has been Nokia ever since.

Till I got my hands on an iPhone.

When I saw the iPhone4, I knew I had to get it. Unfortunately, my contract has yet to expire and getting a phone in Singapore without a contract is wallet suicide.

I’ve always told my friend that if I had an iPhone I wouldn’t abuse it. I would download those awesome apps to enhance my life. Check my mail, read the news, go on twitter, go on facebook, show me where to go, show me how to go. I stressed that I wouldn’t abuse the great power of the iPhone by downloading games.

I even wanted to start a campaign to raise awareness on iPhone abuse!

When I got my hands on the company iPhone, I went bonkers. I went on an App store spree. Free? Great! $0.99? Not too bad! Download download download! And Yes. I couldn’t resist those time wasting, false achievement yet addictive and awesome games.

I was obsessed with organising apps in their respective categories too.

When I saw fellow iPhone users on the train, I nod in approval & even mouth ‘good stuff my friends, good stuff’. When I saw non iPhone users, I would stare at their button filled phones with disapproval. How could anyone see anything with such a small screen. Your phone still has a keypad? Sheesh. Samsung?! You copycats!

Swipe, pinch, enlarge, tap, focus, scroll all with a touch of your finger tips. Great technology. But it’s all gone. Not till the White iPhone4 comes to Singapore.

Do you suffer from iPhone sickness too?


 
 
 
 
 

6 Responses to “Do You Suffer from iPhone Sickness?”

  1. Visovsky January 6, 2011 at 1:16 am #

    I actually knew about most of this, but having said that, I still thought it was useful. Nice job!

  2. John January 5, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    Hi there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoyed reading this.

  3. bobcb518 December 17, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    I have an iphone 3. My sister has an iphone 4. I am so jealous. She has cooler features than I do. I’m supposed to have the cooler stuff because I’m older.

    • Baldwin Ng December 17, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

      Haha I can’t agree with you on that Bob! I am the youngest. Haha.

  4. fnkybee December 17, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    Hi my name is Jamie and I am an iphone user/abuser. Oh this isn’t the 12 step therapy program..crap! 😉 But oh how I love my iphone. I’ve only had it for about 3 months and I can’t leave the room without it in my hand. I’m retarded with that damn thing and yes I need therapy. I hope you get your new iphone 4 soon!

    • Baldwin Ng December 17, 2010 at 7:10 pm #

      Haha Awesome. Which means I am not alone! I can only get my hands on one in March. I can’t wait to abuse it!

Leave a Reply

