Mind Boggling Blogging

13 Dec

That's how I look like at my blogging station


 
It feels good to be doing something, realising you’re not bad at it (I think) & really enjoying it. Who knew blogging could be addictive? Who knew seeing the number of visitors rising each day could be so exhilarating? 500 odd hits in my second week since my first post is enough to get me smiling to myself.

 
I started this blog to raise awareness for myself. I expected myself to be creating mock up newsletters or flyers to show it on my blog. Use these mock ups to create a portfolio for myself. Hoping with an online portfolio, a potential employer would snag me up online (right..) Who was I kidding? 2 weeks since my first & most read post, ‘How to insult someone‘ & not a single mock up.
 
My second post, ‘How to win friends & influence people‘ popped up a day later, followed by ‘Kids Nowadays‘. A week into blogging & still, not a single write-up or article about my self-proclaimed interest in Marketing.
 
Nothing has gone to plan with this blog. I am grateful to have at least got it running. The genre however has taken a huge turn of events. ‘How to insult someone’ was a desperate cry for attention & at the same time to show off how sarcastic I can be. It worked, my highest viewed post, 104 in a single day to date.
 
Somehow between my first & second post I lost track of what my blog was for but I lived out my life as normal, wrote notes in my iPhone the second a post idea is triggered in my head. My long expired visit to the dentist led to ‘Kids Nowadays’. Then I realised, it was so easy to write about stuff going on around me, not so much so my personal life & definitely not about marketing. It was so much easier to share my views then trying to pretend I know the topic inside out. Sadly, that means though I maybe interested in Marketing, I am not be exposed to it enough to share my views on it.
 
I forced myself to come up with ‘How to be a smart web surfer‘, but that just made my blog so general and difficult to market to readers. SEO gurus will call this SEO suicide.
 
Val Kilmer’s ‘At First Sight’ was showing on HBO. I happened to catch it and I knew I had to write ‘What was the difference between You & the Blind‘. An uncharacteristic 4 day hiatus before ‘The killer hand-me downs‘ came about. Once again I asked myself, what happened to the write-ups, mock ups or articles about marketing? Non-existent.
 
Well, I am rambling. I swore to myself I will never say ‘Well, I am rambling’ on my blog but look. What have I done? This is a one-off post where I allow myself to use ‘I’ so many times, but I just want to say blogging is great in so many ways. For me it got me to kick my previous addiction:

I went from this to blogging

I spent about 40 days of my life, not consecutively of course, on this game. A fantasy football game where I lived my second life as a football manager. In this game, I am about 120 years old if I’m not wrong. I am in the year 2099. Nope, no flying cars, no robots just very curious why I am 120 years old and not dead.
 
I used to prop myself, belly first on my bed, surf the net & click my life away in this fantasy game. My achievements? A constant ache in my back & neck. Managed to look like this for a couple of weeks too:

Hideous.

So even though my plan for the blog didn’t work out & none of my posts turn out to be what I planned it to be. Who cares? I am not complaining. I have a proper chair & desk when I blog, I call it my ‘blogging station’. I continue to stay up late to write but the back an&d neck aches are gone. Somehow, I don’t look like an owl addicted to the coffee even though I stay up to the wee mornings just to get a post published.
 
My achievement? The best kind, self achievement. Writing is a great way to structure one’s thinking & it just feels outright great to have your words on the internet. It’s satisfying to see the views jump daily & perceiving it as people being tricked to come to visit is just less pressurizing than wishing people actually came here to read it. Of course, words can’t describe the gratitude of people commenting on my blog to leave compliments. (I am open to criticism too, don’t worry I can’t hunt you down to bite you even if I wanted to. I am not Google). It also feels awesome when a certain someone says she’s proud of my writing.
 
I assure you there is a point for this post. Unfortunately, like most of my posts it comes at the end. Which probably means only 2-4% of readers will think I’m not a rambler (Dang! There I go again). The point is, you can plan your path to anything in life, but be prepared that it is not going to go exactly the way you planned it out to be.
 
The problem with some plans is that, it excludes the most important thing of all. The whole world. A plan doesn’t just involve you & your goal, it includes the whole world. We, Humans are an open system. We have inputs, both physical & psychological. We eat, breathe & absorb knowledge through learning in school, work & MTV. We take these inputs, digest & transform it, then release it back into the environment. It can be your poop, an idea or effective work done. We exist in this vast environment, if the environment changes, we change. It’s about being flexible & adapting to the new environment that ensures our sustainability.

“Empty your mind, be formless, shapeless – like water. Now you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup, you put water into a bottle, it becomes the bottle, you put it in a teapot, it becomes the teapot. Now water can flow or it can crash. Be water, my friend.”

-Bruce Lee-

It’s great to get something of your chest. So whatever you want to do, paint, learn a new language, read a book, dance, pick up a new sport or even blog. Go for it! You might be rewarded with something unexpected & get more out of what you expected. Learn from Forrest Gump:

“Life is like a box of Chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.”


 
 
 
 
 

6 Responses to “Mind Boggling Blogging”

  1. FloresJayc December 28, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    I like reading your site for the reason that you can always bring us fresh and awesome stuff, I feel that I should at least say a thank you for your hard work.

    – Henry

    • Baldwin Ng December 28, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

      Wow. Thanks Henry. That’s compliments of the highest degree. It will be great if you subscribed. I will keep the posts coming. Really Thanks.

  2. bobcb518 December 13, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    You’re pretty smart for a 22 year old. Wise beyond your years. And… you are a very good writer. So clever.

    • Baldwin Ng December 13, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

      Thanks Bob. Great compliments and you are one of my very few subscribers. Cheers

  3. kirapermunian December 13, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

    Great writings! Keep up the good work!

    • Baldwin Ng December 13, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

      Hey Kira, Updated the link. Do you run that website? It’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

