Kids Nowadays

6 Dec

He's trying to figure out where his mommy kept his iPod


 
Are you one of those who get ticked off because kids nowadays are so tech savvy? Kids as early as age 4 or 5 are into iPod Touch, iPad, Xbox360, Playstation3, PSP, Nintendo DS, Wii & the latest Kinect.

Because I am.

Too be fair, during my time I had the Gameboy, Sega Game Gear &… that’s it.

Don’t get me wrong I am not comparing. It’s just that these technologies that lay in these kids’ hands are so amazing. So amazing that they are replacing the good ol’ fun we used to have when we were kids.

Some kids are also into social media like facebook & Twitter. What does a kid need a social network for? They should be having imaginary friends, talk to animals & insects or talk to themselves.

Then again, there’s a slight chance that it might be plain ol’ jealousy. Just like how my brothers were crying injustice because I skipped the beeper or pager phase. While I got a mobile phone when I was 13, they had to live with a beeper & only got their first mobile phone at 15.

While my dad’s generation boasts of their childhood days, where they ran in their underwear outside their home, climbed trees & their portable game was a bag with marbles in it.

My time saw that culture slowly dissolving & saw the introduction of handheld game technologies.

It seems inevitable that technologies will totally replace that culture. Will the future young generation not go out to play anymore? Maybe they rather climb a virtual tree, it won’t be easy I can tell you that.
Because other kids will be doing the same & competing for the high score. Maybe instead of throwing marbles at other kids’ marbles(Not those marbles!) to gain imaginary points, they will be throwing a bird (an angry one to be exact) at a green pig.

Experts say computer games stimulates kids’ minds. But to me, besides gaining that self achievement of a namesake high score, maybe a little competitive spirit & oh not forgetting myopia & a tubby, I really don’t see it as a very wise evolution.

Don’t mind the rants, it all started while I was waiting to see the dentist. These two kids accompanied by their mother walked into the clinic. The moment they got their seats, they were handed a pouch containing two iPod Touches. Once they started swiping away, they didn’t stop.

Then it hit me. This is the natural cycle, each generation tries to give the next what they didn’t have, what they wish they had. These awesome technologies in a palm sized device was nothing but a dream when they were kids.

Then It hit me even harder. I woke up this morning & realized I rather see this:

Don't bother, They can't hear you


Than this:
 
 
 
 
 

The Army That Shouldn't Exist

They are not responsible for any sort of wars that are going on.

Their sole responsibility as kids are to grow up & fulfill their true potential & play a part in this world no matter how small or how big it may be.

If they’re destined to be defenders of their nation & participate in these childish wars, they have the right to decide, when they are old enough.

These children have been manipulated & taken advantage of because of poverty. They’re made use as weapons of propaganda, spies, messengers, scouts & worst of all, human shields. Their lives placed in constant danger, risked for something that they do not truly understand. They should be guided, nurtured & protected, yet they have been exploited. Something has to be done.

Show your support to stop the use of Child Soldiers by joining these facebook pages to show your support

 
They may not have the privilege to hold an iPod or a PSP, but they definitely shouldn’t be holding any weapons of destruction.

Child Soldiers. Some words just don’t belong together.


 
 
 
 
 

13 Responses to “Kids Nowadays”

  1. Kuniyoshi January 6, 2011 at 2:34 am #

    I’m impressed, I must say. Very rarely do I discovered a blog that is both educational and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your thoughts is outstanding; the matter is something that not many people are talking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this. Happy New Year!

  2. Chantel Cabanela January 5, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    Most of the times i visit a blog i get disappointed. On the contrary,I have to say that you have done a good job here.

  3. Hellius December 12, 2010 at 5:49 am #

    hi I was fortunate to look for your topic in wordpress
    your post is marvelous
    I obtain a lot in your subject really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you website is really fabulous
    where can find it

    • Baldwin Ng December 12, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

      Hi thank you for the compliments. This theme is bueno.

  4. Steve Bossenberger December 9, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    Great Post and I agree totally. I am a teacher and see it all the time. I am scared for our future! Kids are out of control these days!

    • Baldwin Ng December 10, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

      Thanks Steve. Great to hear from you.

  5. tiallarising December 9, 2010 at 5:52 am #

    Nice post! Very true… It sure does make one think!

    -Tialla

    http://www.tiallarising.wordpress.com

    • Baldwin Ng December 10, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

      Thanks tialla! It’s great to receive compliments from a published author like yourself. Hope you visit often. (:

  6. Stephanie December 7, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    Hi Baldwin and great post. It saddens me as well whenever I see kids as young as four or five fighting over the PS2 or constantly asking their parents for a Nintendo DS XL. But after presenting this alarming issue (kids being enlisted to fight in wars), I would definitely prefer kids spending their time in front of the computer than risking their lives in the battlefield.

    • Baldwin Ng December 7, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

      Thanks Stephanie! We can all do our part by raising awareness regarding this issue. Thank you for your comments once again. Great blog you have there.

  7. Garrick Davis Gan December 6, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    thumbs up for the some what subliminal message.

    • Baldwin Ng December 6, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

      Thanks Man. Not that I don’t appreciate your comments but I hope this don’t become a trend where every post I have, has 3 comments. Yours Mine Yours.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mind Boggling Blogging « New guy on the blog - December 13, 2010

    […] ‘How to win friends & influence people‘ popped up a day later, followed by ‘Kids Nowadays‘. A week into blogging and still, not a single write-up or article about my self-proclaimed […]

Leave a Reply

